How I Lost $150 And Got Pelted With A Chunk Of Concrete In Kabul
نوشته شده توسط : cheapweddingdresses

I'm surrounded by street children.

I guess I should have expected the attention. Plus, not only am I super white and quite overtly American, but I have lots of expensive crap — cameras, microphones,oscar dresses 2012 tripods — hung,Halter Wedding Dresses tucked and wedged all over me.

It's the prospect of dollar bill handouts and sheer curiosity that acts as a black hole, sucking in all the eyes of the busiest place I've ever seen.  corset and tulle wedding dresses This curiosity is not always benign either, but I'll get to that.

Bush Bazaar: The busiest bazaar in the center of Kabul is truly fascinating. Two stories, sometimes three, all around, and walking room only, unless you're the cops or the UN. I'd been to another bazaar already on my trip, but this one is much denser and much more populated. If not the busiest on earth, it must be the busiest bazaar in town.

The attention makes it hard for me to shoot video. With so many people looking into the camera, or at the camera, it's hard to get a natural look. Plus, I'm using a wide angle and it's difficult because people gather around where they perceive themselves to be outside the shot, and, generally speaking, they're not outside the shot.

Eventually, I gather so much attention that my fixer, Mubine advises we go into a shop and interview a businessman.

We sip tea and chat. He tells me how the American presence sells more wedding dresses (secure women are more apt to accept marriage proposals). Then we pay the man and leave.

We shoot more video in the bazaar, until Mubine spots a good interview: this little kid, a street hustler, no older than 7 or 8. The fixer knows my story well, so he can mark a good interview.

We walk through a maze of side streets to get "somewhere safe," as Mubine puts it.

Another funny detail: In Afghanistan you can just interview random kids if you want. I mean, we literally walk about a quarter mile through almost Slumdog type, narrow side streets with this kid in tow and nobody thinks twice about it.

Do that in the US, and you'll either get sued or tossed in jail. It's an epic interview,high low prom dresses open, honest insights I'd never have found anywhere else.www.onbridals.com (later, I'll discover that the mic came loose and I only got the first five minutes of audio), and afterward I reach into my pocket to tip the kid.

In NYU: they taught us never to pay for interviews. In the third world: that's just how you it's done (most of the time).

A lot of these people live hand-to-mouth, so taking 15 minutes from them during the day is like taking money out of their pockets. The businessman, not so much, and I didn't have to pay him. But farmers, phone card hocking street urchins, yes, you have to pay them for interviews.





:: بازدید از این مطلب : 914
|
امتیاز مطلب : 10
|
تعداد امتیازدهندگان : 3
|
مجموع امتیاز : 3
تاریخ انتشار : چهار شنبه 22 آذر 1391 | نظرات ()
مطالب مرتبط با این پست
لیست
می توانید دیدگاه خود را بنویسید


نام
آدرس ایمیل
وب سایت/بلاگ
:) :( ;) :D
;)) :X :? :P
:* =(( :O };-
:B /:) =DD :S
-) :-(( :-| :-))
نظر خصوصی

 کد را وارد نمایید:

آپلود عکس دلخواه: